Coinbase
Domain not documented · Coinbase, Inc.
reserve evidence. This is a research gap, not a negative conclusion.
Licences & permissions
U.S. spot / money transmission · FinCEN / NYDFS / state regulators
Regulated entity: Coinbase, Inc.
Permitted scope: Spot and fiat services under applicable terms and state permissions; MSB is not a product licence.
Source: cexvia.com
Institutional custody / trust · NYDFS
Regulated entity: Coinbase Custody Trust Company, LLC
Permitted scope: Virtual-currency custody under a trust framework; not a group-wide solvency guarantee.
Source: cexvia.com
Securities broker-dealer · SEC / FINRA
Regulated entity: Coinbase Capital Markets Corp
Permitted scope: Securities brokerage; Apex provides execution, clearing and custody. Separate from spot crypto.
Source: cexvia.com
Customer futures intermediary · CFTC / NFA
Regulated entity: Coinbase Financial Markets, Inc.
Permitted scope: Listed derivatives account services, not spot-market authorisation.
Source: cexvia.com
Derivatives trading venue · CFTC / SEC (security futures only)
Regulated entity: Coinbase Derivatives, LLC
Permitted scope: Derivatives venue; SEC registration is solely for security futures, not general crypto spot trading.
Source: cexvia.com
MAS Financial Institutions Directory — Coinbase
Regulated entity: Coinbase Singapore Pte. Ltd.
Permitted scope: Primary Monetary Authority of Singapore record; permitted scope requires record-level review.
Source: eservices.mas.gov.sg
Entities & structure
The brand is mapped to 5 separately scoped U.S. legal entities and permissions.
Material event timeline
Limited registration: Coinbase Derivatives, LLC
SEC §6(g) notice registration became effective solely for security futures; acknowledged September 8.
Not a general crypto spot-exchange approvalSource: sec.gov
Financial disclosure: Coinbase Global, Inc.
Q2 2026 unaudited quarterly financial statements filed.
Reporting-period evidence, not live reservesSource: sec.gov
Operations: Coinbase platform
Around 50-minute disruption to transfers, cards and onchain workflows, followed by backlog recovery.
Company postmortem published July 21Source: coinbase.com
Operations: Coinbase platform
Major service disruption; June 1 postmortem described infrastructure and recovery weaknesses.
Historical incident; not today’s service statusSource: coinbase.com
Coinbase published a postmortem for a multi-hour platform outage
Coinbase said trading, deposits, withdrawals and other services were unavailable or degraded for roughly eight hours, with full recovery taking longer.
ResolvedSource: cexvia.com
Conditional approval: Coinbase National Trust Company (proposed)
OCC granted preliminary conditional approval for a new national trust bank.
Final commencement not verifiedSource: occ.gov
Security disclosure: Coinbase Global, Inc.
Customer-data theft involving bribed support agents disclosed; social-engineering risk, not reported wallet-key theft.
Disclosure date; company-reported scopeSource: coinbase.com
Coinbase disclosed customer-data theft used for social engineering
Coinbase said criminals recruited overseas support agents to steal data from a subset of customers; passwords, private keys and direct platform funds were not reported exposed.
ConfirmedSource: cexvia.com
Litigation: Coinbase, Inc. / Coinbase Global, Inc.
SEC announced dismissal, explicitly not an assessment of the merits.
Dismissal; not product authorisationSource: sec.gov
Registration ended: Coinbase Securities, Inc.
Historical broker registration ended after business ceased November 9, 2023.
Historical / inactiveSource: files.brokercheck.finra.org
Regulatory enforcement: Coinbase, Inc.
NYDFS compliance settlement: $50m penalty plus $50m compliance investment.
Settlement; not a customer guaranteeSource: dfs.ny.gov
Reserves & solvency evidence
No reserve evidence collected yet.
Reserve disclosures are date- and asset-specific. They are not treated as a full audit or a group-wide solvency guarantee.
Collected source register
48 cited records